Junior Faculty Advisor Staff

Maggie Attridge


Junior Faculty Advisor

Maggie is a rising sophomore in the Media, Self and Society College Scholars program at the University of Maryland in College Park.  She is double majoring in journalism and government/politics. At UMD, she is involved with the UMD Student Government Association and the Student Alumni Leadership Council.  She is from Columbia, Maryland, and attended WJMC in 2017 as a correspondent. She can’t wait to return to share her experiences with the new correspondents!

Faculty Advisor Staff

Mark Hilburn


Faculty Advisor

Mark Hilburn is in his eleventh year teaching journalism at Millard West High School in Omaha, Nebraska, where he advises the MWHS Wildcat News Broadcast, Catalyst Newspaper, Prowler Yearbook and Ink. Literary Magazine. Currently, Mark is serving as President of the Nebraska High School Press Association, presents and judges at national JEA/NSPA and CSPA conventions and teaches journalism workshops across the country. He is a Master Journalism Educator through the Journalism Education Association and holds Master’s degrees in Journalism and Mass Communication and Secondary Education: Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Nebraska. His publications have been Pacemaker finalists, received Gold Crown and All-American Awards, and during the 2017-2018 school year, The Catalyst and Prowler both received 1st place in the NSPA Best of Show competition. Locally, Millard West Journalism won State in 2017 and 2014, was State Runner-Up in 2018, 2016 and 2013 and the past two years, Mark has advised the 2018 and 2019 Nebraska Journalists of the Year. In 2018, Millard West received the first ever Excellence in Broadcasting Award from the University of Nebraska Omaha. Mark was named the 2015 Nebraska Distinguished Journalism Teacher of the Year, and in 2019, was the first adviser to receive the Dr. Sherrie Wilson Outstanding Service Award for Journalism. This is his third year with WJMC.